National Archives, Prob 11/1636, Image reference 252 – Will of John Wright, 6 Nov 1820

INTENTIONS regarding my will to request my brother Thomas Henry Wright Esq of Montague St North will act as my Executor, that my brother Thomas Henry Wright late of Jamaica or in the want of his return to the West Indies Thomas Webb Whitmarsh Esq of Hampstead Heath and Philip Augustus Haurott Esq aforesaid will be trustees to the residue of my estate to give and bequeath to my Executors the whole of my property of whatever kind or quality soever the same way be ^ [inserted above] in trust for the liquidation of my debts ^ [inserted above] with part to fill or not as [illegible] the overplus to be divided (except the Legacies hereafter mentioned) in equal parts two thirds to my son John William Wright the remaining third to my natural daughter Emma Withers when she attains the age of twenty one years.  Books drawings prints &c &C useful to my son John William Wright in his profession to be [illegible] for him exclusively unless a definity for the payment of my debts and [illegible] thru a decision by Mr Phillips of those most essential to his improvement. My funeral to be plain at as little expense as possible my remains to be deposited in the vault of St George’s or St James or the most plan

[page 2]

Of instructions in their [illegible] of my son or natural daughter the interest arising for their shares or may not bring sufficient for their maintenance the trustees to have the power to ^ [inserted above] make addition and from the principal at the direction in the writ of my son John Wm Wright derr[illegible] before he attains the age of twenty one years the interest arising from his i[illegible]

To my mother Margaret Wright and sister for their natural lives and at their decease the principal to my Brother ^[Written above] [illegible] Wright his family for ever in the event of my natural daughter’s dottage before she attains the age of twenty one years the principle ^ [written above] to [illegible] son John Wm Wright sum of fifty pounds to be given to her mother Emma Withers in addition to the legacy herein after mentioned to [illegible] to my son John ^William Wright to my dearest mother as soon as possible the sum of one hundred pounds to Emma Withers for her S[illegible] fifty pounds the bro bedstead furniture blankets &c complete she shops in a walnut [illegible] half six of drawrs the table in second floor sitting room and six mahogany chairs cane bottom in parlour five [illegible] &c to furnish a room of this value to my sister in law my brother’s picture with the frame to Mr William Hornsby in the event of my residue of my properly accounting to fifty ^[inserted above] [illegible] pounds the whole of this [illegible] to me and should ^[inserted above] residue not exceed one thousand thereon hundred only (and so in proportion shewing fifty for every five hundred definitory of  ^ [inserted above] and three engravings of miniatures by Morse and his copy to Thomas Webb Whitmarsh Esq of Hamstead Heath my Wilton drawing from Sir Thomas Sawmour picture of the Lady Child and dog as a token of my kind regard to him and Mrs Whitmarsh hoping he will act as a trustee to my daughter dear son in full confidence he will merit this favour to Pampitor Pigott Esq of Bridge Villa [illegible] to Maibu Grad my miniature of Miss Wilmot and I ^[inserted above] [illegible] after hopping or a remembrance of my [illegible – crossed out] sincere friendship to my friend Wm Hy Pyre as a sincere token of remembrance any drawing ^[inserted above] or miniature of him the may want the drawing of Lord Castleragh ^[inserted above] Lady Grantham miniatures Wm Augustoins to be sold if possible to them with the frames Lord Castleragh and Lord Castleragh 50 gui [illegible] Augustoins 50 SC Lady Grantham 30 Gu to Thomas Philips Esq the small oil copy of Miss Kirkey  from Sir Joshua Reynolds it is my most particular desire that no miniature of him or Mrs W shall be sold of Mrs Wright but those my son may not wish to retain be obliterated should Mr Chas Beasley not purchase the drawing from Raphael now in Mr Austoys possession and agter my job to legacies and paid there remains of the residue of my Estate fifteen hundred ^[inserted above] per diem of one thousand pounds it is my wish the same be given to [illegible – crossed out] Mrs Marg Wilday No 30 Just St Brunswick Square as a small return of gratitude for the kindness she has over bestowed on my son to Mrs Grubb [illegible] it is my particular request that my son may paint a picture for PA Haurott Esq from one of the best old masters the size and subject to be solicited by Mr Haurott and that it be presented to him with a proper frame in remembrance of my regard next to the payment of my debts I am most anxiously solicitous that whatever pictures drawings &c may be in my possession at the time of my decease may be returned to their owners as soon as possible by my son and that should it be necessary to sell my pictures prints furniture &c and it may be by public sale by Mr Christie Burlington Gardens and not removed to any other place whatever Mr Christie to be allowed to add any thing he may wish to insofar the sale list of pictures in my possession not belonging to me, two copies from Van Dyke belonging to Colonel Wildman, Mary Queen of Scotts in a carved frame Mr Piggott family pictures Sir William Brahy and portrait of his father by Hoare of Bath two pictures by Voshost Mr Andrews Cardinal Branfort from St Joshua copy from Van Dyke

[3]

and Mrs Hary Powell in the possession of Mrs Hars was Swindon Wilton Mr Evans Lord Cravit[?] Lady A Smith Sir Wm Erskine to Sir T Sawmour Mr Croker to Mr Avon miniature of Lady Carysford by Cosway set in pearls to Sir Carysford in a drawer of my painting desk a small miniature of a clergyman to Lady Oxford I believe her Ladyships father Lady Croft and Honorable T Granville Hopper to be returned to Mr Young Miniature in oil Mr Paynton to Mr Pigott &c of a lady from Van Dyke to Mr Grosner Lady Augusta Smith with her frame and cas to Lady Smith to Mr Goddard for Colonel Wait four miniatures &c an unfinished miniature of the Earl of Anglessy by Cosway to Lady March a small miniature of the late Countess of Uxbridge by Englehart and oval crayon drawing of ditto by Hamilton of Dublin to Lady Calloway Spou[illegible] Square Lord Anglessey’s sister to the Revd SS Risketts a drawing of Mrs Kirketto by Sarfoly[?] in portfolio I now most obviously conjure my executors to discharge my debts to Mr Benjamin Prior Westminster library and the out of 43 £ due the beginning of April to Mr A Trison first the other as early as possible.

John Wright

Examined with the original E Lovelock Jr

6th November 1820

APPEARED Personally Stephen Poyntz Denning  of Co[illegible] Street Hanover Square in the county of Middlesex, Gentleman and Nathaniel James Taylor of Stepney Place Kennington in the County of Surrey Gentleman and under oath that they know and were well acquainted with John Wright late of Burlington Gardens in the county of Middlesex miniature painter deceased and they also know and were well acquainted with his and manner and character  of handwriting and subscription having several times over him write and also with and substitute his name and having now admitted purporting to be and t[illegible] the last will and testament of the said deceased the said will beginning thus “Justification regarding my will”’’ ending thus “I now most earnestly tonjur my executors to discharge my debts as Mr Benjamin Priest Westminster Library and the one of 43 £ on the beginning of April to Mr A [Illegible] first the as early as possible and thus subscribed John Wright” by the afforsaid sign that they be truly and in their conviction believe the whole body series and content of ten said paper writing and the subscription there to be of the proper handwriting and subscription of the said John Wright [illegible] Stepeh Poyntz Denning and Nathal Jas Turner, same day the said Stephen Poyntz Denning was only sworn to the truth of this affidavit before me John Dauberry Sur present John Bishop not pub

MOVED at London 16th Nov 1820 before the to put addames D of Laws Surr by the oaths of Thomas Henry Wright the brother of the deceased and Philip Augustus Hawiott George Austoy Esq the executors to whom admton was granted having been sworn duly to admi John William Wright the natural lawful son only child the sub person entitled to the provisional estate effects of the sale deceased in rast had died intestate having first ronstated as by arts of court appear.

Name Relationship to deceased Role in will bequest
Thomas Henry Wright Brother executor  
Thomas Webb  Whitmarsh   Trustee  
Philip Augustus Haurott   Trustee  
John William Wright Son beneficiary 2/3 estate, all his drawings as he wishes
Emma Withers Natural daughter beneficiary 1/3 estate
Mr Philips   beneficiary  
Margaret Wright Mother beneficiary Support and £100
Unnamed Sister beneficiary support
Emma Withers Mother of natural daughter beneficiary £50 and furniture from his house
Unnamed Sister in law beneficiary Portrait of her husband
William Hornsby   beneficiary £50 and three engravings by Morse
Thomas Webb Whitmarsh and Mrs Whitmarsh   beneficiary Wilton drawing from Sir Thomas Sawmour and lady child and dog
Pampitor Pigott   beneficiary [illegible]
Maibu Grad   beneficiary Miniature of Miss Wilmott
William Henry Pyre   beneficiary Any drawing or miniature of him
Lord Castleragh   beneficiary Opportunity to purchase a portrait of him
Lady Grantham   beneficiary Purchase a portrait of her
Thomas Philips   beneficiary Oil copy of Miss Kirkey from Sir Joshua Reynolds
Mrs Marg Wilday   beneficiary Token of kindness
Mrs Grubb   beneficiary Token of kindness
PA Haurott   beneficiary That his son paint him a picture by an old master of his choice and put it in a frame
Mr Christie   beneficiary Be permitted to sell what paintings necessary for the payment of his debts
Stephen Poyntz Denning   Witness  
Nathaniel James Taylor   Witness  
John Dauberry   Court notary  
John Bishop   Notary public