North Bay Nugget, 16 Feb 1960

Modern Etiquette

Q. My husband and I were guests at dinner in some friend’s home recently and in order to help my hostess, I stacked my used dishes as I finished eating out of them. My husband says this was incorrect. What is the answer?

A. Your husband is right. Always leave your dishes as they are when you finish eating.

Q. is there a rule of etiquette governing the length a marriage engagement should be?

A. No. However, long engagements are not so common today. The usually accepted length of an engagement now is about six months.

Q. Please suggest a note I might write to a friend who was kind enough to write to me in my recent bereavement?

A. “Dear Betty: your sweet letter gave me great comfort. Thank you so much for writing. I shall call you as soon as I feel able. Lovingly, Susan.”

Q. Should the dinner napkin be held above the edge of the table when unfolding it? A. No; the napkin is unfolded in the lap.