In honour of Canada 150 – a very peculiar poem about Canada and fish

 

 

The haddock’s feet are on thy shore,

Canada, my Canada!

The halibut is at the door,

Canada, my Canada!

For smelt and gudgeon, chub and eel,

For codfish, hake and mackerel,

Arise and meet the Yankee steel

Canada, my Canada!

Thou wilt not cower in the brine,

Canada, my Canada!

Thou wilt not drop thy fishing line,

Canada, my Canada!

Defend the sculpin, save thy skate,

Strike for thy shad with sole elate –

Don’t swear and spit upon thy bait,

Canada, my Canada!

Deal gently with a herring race,

Canada, my Canada!

Put up your swordfish in its place,

Canada, my Canada!

If for reprisal you would sue,

Just turn your other cheek; please do,

And take a Yankee smack or two,

Canada, my Canada!

 

Philadelphia Inquirer

Printed in The Glengarrian, 28 Sep 1888

