a_08840

Last weekend I spoke on the phone with a newly discovered cousin.  It was marvelous – a descendant of Sarah (Sadie) Paulin. I realized that because of my blog I have amassed a rather impressive collection of cousins.  Add to this the network of cousins I was already a part of, and there are a lot of people who are descended from Frederick Paulin and Mary Cutler, who have shared in my research.  Of course since the couple had thirteen children, well, there are a lot of potential people to collect!

In the last few weeks I started doing some background research on society in late nineteenth century Victoria, BC for a paper I am presenting at the Canadian Historical Association on settler identity.  I lot of ideas and facts have been bouncing around my head recently.  I have been contemplating the Paulin family and particularly how they lived in Victoria, and how others saw them. My mind is full of ideas and images, but most importantly with questions about the value of my genealogical research, and my family going forward.

The big question is “Now what?”  A lot of my cousins network is rather one-sided.  We are all related, but I am in the main the common thread.  Awesome for me, true, but not sustainable in the long term, and not really good for the free flow of information, and the sense of belonging for the group.  And then it hit me – a reunion.  Why not create an opportunity for the descendants of Frederick and Mary to meet, trade stories and pictures. The possibility of getting so many of these people together – oh boy.

The logistics are a bit mind boggling: find a window of time, a suitable venue, decide on a slate on activities, and then get the word out.  This could be a lot of work.  And so right now it remains only an idea……

Am I being a bit of a dreamer people?

Does this sound like a good idea at all?

I want to leave this post with one last thought. Wouldn’t it just be awesome to have all of the Paulins/Paulines gathered on the porch of Tod House in the same way the family posed in front of it in the 1890s?