Montreal Daily Star, 6 December 1919, page 19

DID YOU SAY PRETTY?

19ds6dec1919b

Eight entrants for the title of the ugliest woman in London were judged at St George’s Hall (On the left) Miss “Leydon” the winner (On the Right) The runner-up

UGLIEST WOMAN PROUD OF TITLE

Unique competition held in London recently – lots of competitors

London –Nov 15 (by mail) St George’s Hall yesterday was the scene of a pathetic exhibition in which eight women displayed their ugliness in the hope of being chosen by a committee of Pressmen as the “ugliest woman” in London.

There were over thirty applications.  Among them were several facetious letters suggesting the name of “friends” and there was one from a mistress recommending her maid.  Only eight of the applicants however, faced the judges.

The remarkable fact was that only three of the eight received any votes, and one of the competitors was actually offered a position in the beauty chorus of Mr De Biere, who has been advertising for the ugliest woman in London to assist him in a new production.

The exhibition began by the introduction of a tall woman in red, swathed in black headdress.  She was carrying a sandbag, and was toying with a green vase.

Several of the women were well dressed, and try as they would, ugliness was far from them.  Four of them were married, and explained that their husbands knew all about it, and were quite willing for them to make a living by their ugliness if possible.

The winner of this extraordinary competition, who chooses to be known as Miss Leyton, of London, received 14 votes out of a possible 19, and seemed quite pleased with her achievement.

In a chat afterwards she explained that she was a music teacher, and had but a few pupils at 12s a quarter.

“I have never tried to improve my appearance,” she said, wistfully, “I don’t curl my hair, or powder.  Mother always said I was ugly, and in fact, it was she who advised me to go in for it. She said there was no harm in trying.  People say my three sisters are good-looking.

“I have plenty of friends yes, and one or two sweethearts.  My appearance was no drawback to them.  I’ve never thought much about it.  But I consider it an honour to have been chosen as the ugliest woman in London.

Perhaps the explanation lies in the words of one of the unsuccessful candidates, a lady with white hair, wearing furs and a feathered hat. “I can’t make any capital out of being good-looking” she said, “and I wanted a job.”

