brick wall

My Brick Walls – Research that Frustrates

In the past I have used my blog to share my successes, but of course I have had some problems in my genealogical research. They are called Brick Walls. And there are quite a few.

Today’s brick wall is Amy Elizabeth Jennings. She was the sister of my great-grandmother Emma Jane. She emigrated with Emma Jane, Emma Jane’s husband Ernest Paulin, and his brother Herbert in 1884.

Shipping list, 1884
Shipping list, 1884

I know that she married William Momson on Oct 5th 1887 in Victoria, and then the trail goes cold.

Marriage record from BC 1887
Marriage record from BC 1887

I do have these pictures, which came from my grandparents’ collection that my Mom identified as the “Mitchells” and said that they were related to her Nanny [Jennings] and that the picture was from BC. Are they Amy’s family? There is a slight resemblance to her sister in the older lady in the shots. Not sure though.

From the collection of my grandparents
From the collection of my grandparents

I was hoping that with a name like Momson would be easy to find, but they aren’t. It might be the kind of name that is often misspelt. Ancestry.ca had a listing for a Mis William Momson in a 1949 Victoria street directory, but when the page attached is brought up doesn’t actually include that name.

So facts that I am sure of: Amy Elizabeth Jennings born in 1859 in Yardley, and baptised at St Andrew’s Bordesly in January 1860. She was the daughter of Thomas Jennings and his wife Emma Newberry. She emigrated in 1884 to Victoria, BC, and in 1887 she married William Momson age 26 of Kelso, Scotland, in 1887.

If anyone can shed some light on her life after her marriage, and if the picture Mom identified as the Mitchells is her family or not, or they recognize the picture, please contact me.

