I was thinking about how the Windhams, Guises, and Cutlers seemed, to a great extent, live not far from each other, or, chose to inhabit certain sections of London. So, I decided to map them out on Google Maps. Now, a lot of the addresses are approximations because the London of the late 18th to mid 19th century does not necessarily translate well to 21st century London, but there are clues.

Capture

I should admit that I think a lot of John Cutler living in Camberwell has a lot to do with the fact that his wife’s family, the Freaks, lived in that area. However, a lot of histories of the area he lived in describe it in glowing terms as part of the new middling developments in the London area, so it could also have a lot to do with class, income and the ability to buy a bigger house.

I will soon make a Freak Cutler map to compliment this map.

You can access this map here

