Walter Newall of Craigend, Dumfries Archives
Walter Newall of Craigend, Dumfries Archives

Here is Walter Newall, architect of Dumfries. A man of taste, education and means. I guess we could even call him socially prominent.

And then I found this, which certainly alters my perception of him a bit.

Dumfries and Galloway Standard, 8 March, 1854

Mr J Lizars, Optician, who is at present on a professional visit to Dumfries, has been favoured with the following testimonial from our respected townsman, Walter Newall, Esq., architect:-
Dumfries, 6 March 1854
“I have great pleasure in testifying that I have been using a pair of Mr Lizars’ Spectacles for upwards of 16 years; and, from the great satisfaction they have given me, I have great confidence in recommending his Spectacles to others who may require artificial assistance. I am now using his glasses in writing this testimonial.
Walter Newall, Architect.”

I guess they were nice glasses.

