And so the transcribing of written material continues. I must say it is becoming a bit of an obsession, this stuff is great. I have read most of this material before but the act of transcribing them brings more information to the fore, makes it more real, the words sink in.

Today’s will is of Samuel Clements, who was my great-great-great-great grandfather. I have to thank Frances Bedford, who I found through the Oxfordshire Surname Interest list for some of the genealogical information I have on the Clements family. She graciously gave me a load of Clements parish record information which has filled in a lot of holes in my knowledge of the family. I thought I would provide a bit of context to the will by giving a picture of Sarah Paulin his daughter, and through whom I am related to him, a family chart, and also a chart of those in the will and their relationship to Samuel, as stated in the will.

desc of samuel clements

sarah clements paulin 2

Transcription:

This is the Last Will of me Samuel Clements of Henley-on-Thames Oxon late a hair dresser but now out of business first I revoke all former and other wills by me heretofor made and do declare this only to be my last will as to all ^that my cottage or tenement with the garden and appartments thereto belonging situated in Friday Street Henley on Thames aforesaid and which I purchased of Richard Potter I give and assigns for over I give all my household goods furniture unto my wife for her life and after her death unto and between my sons Henry and Thomas and my daughter Catherine equally to be divided between them share and share alike I forgive my son Alfred the debt which he owes me or which he now owes ^ outwith he may owe me at the time of my decease and I discharge him his executors and administrators from payment of such debt As to all the rest and residue of my personal estate and effects whatsoever and wheresoever I give and bequeath the same unto my Executors hereinafter named upon trust to pay thereout all my just debts funeral and testamentary expenses and subject thereto upon trust for the benefit of my wife during her life and after her decease I give and bequeath the same as follows to my daughter Sarah, the wife of George Paulin fifty pounds to my daughter Catherine two hundred pounds and I direct that one hundred pounds part thereof shall be received and taken by her in part discharge of the principal sum of two hundred pounds owing to her from my son Samuel to my son Thomas fifty pounds and the residue thereof if any unto my son Henry absolutely and I appoint my sons in law the said George Paulin and Joseph Sharp Executors of this my will In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand this eighteenth day of April one thousand eight hundred and fifty-three – Samuel Clements – Signed published and declared by the said Samuel Clements the testator as and for this last will in the presence of us who in his presence at his request and in the presence of each other have subscribed our names as witnesses thereto – Nicholas Mercer Henley on Thames Solicitor—James White Clerk to Mr Mercer.
Proved at London 16 September 1857 before the Worshipful Thomas Spinks Doctor of Laws and Surrogate by the Oaths of George Paulin and Joseph Sharp the executors to whom admon was granted having been first sworn duly to administrate.

will of sam

