Montreal Daily Star, 13 May 1912, page 21
An Old Landmark to soon disappear
An Ancient House to be Demolished
Relic of French Regime on St Urbain has cedar floors 2 ½ feet thick.
Another of Montreal’s ancient landmarks is about to disappear in the shape of an old house at 182 St Urbain Street, which is to be taken down to enable Mr James A Aird to increase his business premises. Not only does the memory of old inhabitants established that this is an old dwelling must be at least 200 years old, but the construction of the house itself indicates a period considerably prior to 1800. for one thing, the floors themselves are made of hewn cedars, some of them as much as 2 ½ feet thick. Over this has been placed a flooring of mortar and stone, calculated to defy the ravages of time. The partions themselves are made out of 3 inch planking tenoned together with thick wooden pins. Indeed the house to day, with its old fireplaces and its quaint French windows as is in splendid repair, and would (illegible).
Mr Bronsdon who is 91 years of age, distinctly remembers when this house in those days a villa of no mean pretensions, stood in themidst of vast acres of meadowlands and fields. There were no buildings then beyond St Patrick’s Church, St Urbain Street was then in the aristocratic quarter. Several houses still extant attest to the truth of this, but none of them can boast of this, but none of them can boast of the antiquity of the old house in question, which seems for years to have been a memory of the old French Regime.