Gillian’s Rules for Politicians who want my Vote

 

And so there will be a provincial election on September fourth.  Yipee!  By the time I got home from work on Wednesday, the day the election was called, there were already a bunch of signs out by the Liberals and the PQ.  So clearly they are seeking my vote.

 

Members of the National Assembly (according the Assembly’s website)  receive $99, 178 a year and they also have a number of other types of remuneration and benefits depending on if they serve on committees, are ministers, etc.  This is a lot of money.  This is my money as a tax payer.  A lot of money to a person meant to be working for me as a citizen of the province, and representing my interests in the National Assembly.  Elections are essentially job interviews, and this year I am going to approach them as such.

 

To the person seeking this job as MNA for Hull:

 

Do you like getting phone calls in the evening by machines?  Do you enjoy the one-sided conversations with recordings by a phone number identified as caller unknown or unknown number?  I doubt it.  So why would you think I would want to receive them?

 

Should I receive what is affectionately known as a robo-call, regardless if the call is considered legal, and does not deceive or misinform, I will count it against you.

 

Negative advertising?  Well I am sorry, if all you can come up with is that your opposition is the son of an unmarried camel or any such silliness, well I will count this against you.  Calling people names is the sign of someone who does not think, and is juvenile.  If you want a job that pays $99,178, you should demonstrate some clear policies.  If you can’t, well then I guess you don’t want this very much.

 

I know I have said it before, in relation to the Federal election, but I will restate it here.  Visit me for cripes sakes!  Is it so hard to actually go around the neighbourhoods that will be your riding and introduce yourself?  I am sure that you think that this is a lot of hard work, but it is worth it.  I have been told by some it is because of where I live, and that some candidates only hit the more affluent neighbourhoods.  I have checked, and they don’t actually have more votes than the less affluent neighbourhoods, its still one person one vote.  You are asking for us to give you a job that pays a heck of a lot of money, is it unreasonable that we want to meet you before, and ask questions?

 

Since it is clear that an election has been in the offing for several months, you must have had time to work out your details for the election campaign- posters, advertising, etc.  Distribute some stuff to the houses now.  Don’t wait for the last minute, start sending out flyers.  Your posters are cute, I must admit, but seriously, a studio photo and some kind of catchy statement like “Pour Quebec” or whatever it was, is not sufficient.

 

I have voted in every provincial and federal election since I was legally able to, and intend to do so again.  Voting in elections is the responsibility of every citizen, and one I take extremely seriously.

