I took a tour of the Mount Royal Cemetery the other day, and took some pictures of some of the monuments that interested me the most.  I know that a lot of people might be creeped out by the idea of visiting a cemetery and taking pictures.  But I see them as historical record, and while sure there are dead bodies lying under the sod, the cemetery serves more as a place for the living than the dead.  I just pick monuments that interest me.  These people are not related to me. 

Here is my first selection….

Allan grave marker

 

From the Allan family plot:

In proud and loving memory of our beloved and only son

Flight Lieutenant Hugh Allan RN

Born 26th October 1896

Killed while on Patrol Duty over the German Lines

6th July 1917- Aged 20 Years

Buried in Coxyde, Belgium

Time would have bought him in her patent ways, so her young life spoke, to prosperous days, to fullness of authority and praise.  He would not wait so long, a boy, he spent his boys dear life for England no honour of age had been more excellent.

