Montreal Daily Star, 25 January 1883, page 3

A Female Dentist

Miss Jessie F. Detchon, of this city, a younger sister of Miss Adelaide Detchon, the well-known reader, having taken the full two years course at the Philadelphia Dental College, and passed her examination with flying colors, has established herself in this city to practice.  Miss DEtchon being the first lady who ever received a degree from the institution, a reporter called at her office in Girard Street, yesterday, in order to ascertain what sort of an opening the profession of dentistry offered to the gentler sex.  The young lay was found in very comfortable and artistic quarters. In reply to a question she said: “No, I am not the only lady dentist in Philadelphia, there being one other; but I do not think there are any to be found in America outside of this city.  In Europe there is one, a German lady, who came to this city to study, and who, after graduating at the Pennsylvania Dental College, returned to her own country, where she now holds the position of private dentist to the Empress Augusta.  I am surprised,” she continued, “that many more women do not enter the profession, for it offers them a wonderfully good field, and there is no reason why they should not be successful, since the other lady dentist in Philadelphia and myself have large and constantly increasing practices.  When I made up my mind to study dentistry, and the students of the college were told that they were to have a lady student come among them, they were very for dignant, and threatened to make it too hot in- any woman who essayed to take the course, and so I started in with some little nervousness.  From the outset down I was treated with the greatest courtesy.  Why,” said the young lady, enthusiastically “they were so nice to me that when I graduated I felt as though many of them were as dear to me as real brothers would have been.”

“Have you many gentlemen patients?” asked the reporter, who was sorry he had no aching molar.

“No; a great majority of my patients are ladies.  I also attend the teeth of a great many children, as they are not so nervous with a lady as with a gentleman.”

Miss Detchon said that she thought the profession of dentistry a much better one for women than that of medicine, which she had also studied, as the former was one in which regular office hours could be observed, while to be successful in the practice of medicine a lady must be ready to sally forth at all hours of the day and night, and must undergo no small amount of exposure.- Philadelphia Record.

